Reuters names 2022 Journalists of the Year Awards winners - Reuters News Agency
Home » Reuters Media Center » Reuters names 2022 Journalists of the Year Awards winners

Reuters Media Center

Reuters names 2022 Journalists of the Year Awards winners

On Thursday, Reuters celebrated the extraordinary work and dedication of its journalists at its annual Journalists of the Year Awards, which recognized the best of Reuters journalism from 2022.

The ceremony was streamed globally and celebrated individuals and teams in 16 categories. The program included reflections from Reuters journalists on delivering their award-winning coverage from all corners of the globe, while remaining true to the Trust Principles of independence, integrity and freedom from bias.

Reuters recognized the team and individuals contributing to its coverage of the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the biggest geopolitical story of the year, in six categories. The collaboration across text, pictures, video and graphics colleagues earned those covering the ongoing conflict and its global impact the Story of the Year honor. Photo of the Year, selected by Thomson Reuters staff vote, was awarded to Clodagh Kilcoyne for her picture of a young woman crying aboard a bus from Ukraine to Romania. The Full Speed Award, which honors those who excel at reporting stories first and fast, was given to the Moscow bureau and overnight team for their speed wins on the war, including Russian President Putin launching a  “special military operation”. The Ukraine visuals team was honored with the Video Journalist of the Year award, and Gleb Garanich was named Photo Journalist of the Year. Cassel Bryan-Low was one of two honorees in the Publishing Editor of the Year category, for her enterprising editing of quick-turn exclusives and in-depth insights that took audiences inside the war in Ukraine.

The European energy crisis stemming from the conflict in Ukraine was awarded the Business Coverage of the Year award. Reuters coverage has included in-depth stories and numerous scoops on meeting the continent’s energy needs during the conflict, the exit of major oil companies from Russia, the shutdown of gas supplies and the impact of higher gas and fuel prices on the continent. Veronica Brown was one of two editors recognized as Editor of the Year for driving coverage of Europe’s energy crisis.

The Baron Award, which honors an individual who exemplifies Reuters tradition of integrity and journalistic excellence and is named after founder Baron Paul Julius Reuter, was awarded to Leika Kihara for her extensive coverage of the Bank of Japan and Japanese economic news.

In the Breaking News category, Reuters awarded the trophy to the team covering the death of Queen Elizabeth II for being ahead on the story, including being on the ground at Balmoral Castle when news of her death broke. The Scoop of the Year award was given to the reporting team who revealed the use of child labor at a Hyundai subsidiary in Alabama. The Enterprise Reporting of the Year category winner was the “Nightmare in Nigeria” series that exposed shocking human rights abuses by the Nigerian military.

The Graphic of the Year award went to the Korea crowd crush team, who produced a visually rich multimedia reconstruction that combined an account of how the Halloween revelry in Seoul turned to disaster.

Three Reuters journalists were honored in the Reporter of the Year category: Angus Berwick and Tom Wilson for their investigative pieces on cryptocurrency exchange Binance and reporting on FTX’s collapse, and Zhang Yan for her coverage of Tesla’s struggles in China and the COVID lockdown in the country. Breakingviews’ Liam Proud was named Commentary/Analysis Reporter of the Year for his deeply reported commentary on the most pressing topics in finance, which judges praised for providing readers with a clearly explained way to think about what will likely happen next.

In the editor categories, Sumeet Chatterjee was named Editor of the Year for establishing Reuters as one of Asia’s top financial news services, sharing the distinction with Veronica Brown. Alongside Cassel Bryan-Low, Tresa Sherin Morera was recognized in the Publishing Editor of the Year category for her work expanding and restructuring the Reuters Bangalore team.

Finally, the Reuters Events editorial team was awarded the Editorial Innovation award for their work engaging the Reuters newsroom to enhance Reuters Events with great guests, on-stage interviews and topics, and making the most of the return to in-person conferences.

See the entire list of finalists for Reuters Journalists of the Year Awards 2022 here.

Media contact:
Heather Carpenter
heather.carpenter @

Article Tags
Categories: Awards
Sections: AnnouncementsAwardsInside the newsroom