Reuters wins a Covering Climate Now Journalism Award for Breaking News - Reuters News Agency

Reuters Media Center

Reuters wins a Covering Climate Now Journalism Award for Breaking News

Cows graze in a deforested pasture in Brazil's Amazon located in the the municipality of Itapua do Oeste, Rondonia state, Brazil, November 3, 2020. Picture taken November 3, 2020. REUTERS/Jake Spring - RC2O5L95EJ9H

Reuters, the world’s leading provider of trusted news, insight and analysis, has been awarded a Covering Climate Now Journalism Award, which honors exemplary coverage of climate change and highlights the impact of powerful storytelling on the defining story of our time. 

Jake Spring, a Reuters Correspondent covering the climate and environment, was recognized as the winner in the Breaking News category. Spring’s body of work draws attention to how the Brazilian government used COVID-19 safety measures to undermine inspection policies intended to protect the rainforest.

NBC News’ Al Roker, host of the Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards, said, “Jake Spring’s aggressive, fast-paced reporting exposed the Brazilian government’s loosening of deforestation regulations.”

Covering Climate Now said on Twitter, “Spring’s tenacious coverage is evidence of a reporter who deeply understands climate.” View Spring’s winning entry here.

Reuters Chief Correspondent Stephen Eisenhammer’s special report, “One Brazilian Farmer Tried—and Failed—to Ranch More Responsibly in the Amazon,” was also a finalist in the Feature category. The report exposed why lax registries, weak law enforcement and the opaque beef business thwarted a plan to make one Brazilian farmer’s herd deforestation-free.

With 2500 journalists in 200 locations, Reuters produces hundreds of videos and thousands of pictures and text stories on climate change and the state of the world’s environment every month. Visit for award-winning climate coverage.

[Reuters PR blog post]

Media contact:

deepal .patadia@tr. com

Article Tags
Categories: AwardsClimate Change
Sections: Awards